There is quite a lot of disagreement about which birds are a distinct species or a sub-species of another species of bird. Currently, there are thought to be somewhere between 452 & 484 different species of raptor.

One taxonomical classification defines two main orders of raptors, Falconiformes (hawks, falcons, etc) & the Strigiformes (Owls). These orders are broken down as follows :

Falconiformes :
These are mainly diurnal (daytime hunting). There are between 292 & 304 species of falconiformes, which are split into 5 groups.

Accipitridae :
This group consists between 223 & 232 species, including around 190 species of Hawks & relations (including eagles and buzzards), around 30 species of kites, 13 species of harriers, and 15 species of Old World Vultures (i.e. from Europe/Africa/Asia) & some others
Falconidae :
This group consists of 52 to 57 species of Falcons & relations and 6 species of Caracaras.
New World Vultures :
7 species of Vultures & Condors from the Americas. There is some doubt as to whether the New World Vultures should be treated as raptors, as some recent taxonomic studies suggest that they are more closely related to Herons, Storks & Ibises.
Ospreys :
The Osprey is a very specialised feeder, feeding almost exclusively on fish & gets its own family group.
Secretary Bird :
another highly specialised, unique bird, which also gets its own family group

Strigiformes :
There are between 162 & 178 species of owls (diurnal, nocturnal & crepuscular) split into two main groups
Tytonidae :
Barn owls, grass owls & relations, of which there are between 13 to 17 different species.
Strigidae :
consisting of between 149 & 161 species often referred to as "true owls", further split into two groups :
Buboninae :
including the smallest pygmy owls to the largest Eurasian Eagle Owl.
Striginae :
including the tawny owl

In the recent book by James Ferguson-Lees & David A. Christie, "Raptors Of The World", they split the orders of diurnal raptor differently, a full species list according to there classification can be found here.

The term hawk is confusingly used to describe all of the diurnal raptors (with the exception of vultures & the Secretary Bird). Confusion often arises from the English names of the birds, which often places birds in the wrong category. For example, the both Cuckoo Falcons (family: Aviceda) & Honey Buzzards (Pernis apivorus) are actually a types of kite. Some of the names are based on the original ideas of the bird's classification, and the birds have since been reclassified. Sometimes the name highlights the fact that the bird has characteristics of different groups, the African Harrier Hawk (or Gymnogene) (Polyboroides typus previously Gymnogenys typicus) resembles a harrier but has broadwings similar to a hawk. There is often confusion between the British & American naming of the birds, in America, many buteo's & other buzzard-like birds are called hawks, this also applies to some harriers & kites. Many of the New World Vultures are referred to as buzzards in America. Eagle owls & hawk owls are more named as a reference to their size, rather than appearance, and are owls not eagles or hawks.

Words & Pictures © P.Frost 2000-2010    Privacy Statement
Non-Frames Menu Menu With Frames
Please let me know if this page was helpful